The art of over-rated living – Planning

Planning is a platform shared by saints and sinners, theists and atheists as all strive for a common goal named ‘achievements’. Earlier we had planning commissions to chalk out 5Y plans for the nation. Predators plan their prey; enemies plan their next ploy; players plan their strategy; aspirants plan their career. We plan our days, some plan nights too. In lighter mood, we plan for vacations, escapades, dinners, movies, outfits, fun. We gather to spend good time together. Since we never want good times to die, we plan for the next meeting. When it comes to work, planning is considered as a killer skill. There are books written / being written on its importance and how to hone in 30 days. Some plan projects – terrorists plot attacks on targets, contract killers murders of a hitlist, soldiers martyrdom for either opponents or themselves, wise men investments. Event planning is another vast subject of research – marriage, meetings, promotions, war, national days – these are events. We plan next selfie, next friend on social networks or on any next act we either enjoy doing or have a peered obligation to perform well.

We know we can’t control much. Many need help from, apart from psychologists, God or his channel partners like priests, astrologers, faith folks to align our luck to our expectation. We don’t stop planning though. Chronic planners are either too high or too low on IQ. Clearly, I don’t qualify even if I want. The brainy horde know their priorities, probabilities and capabilities better. Their plans of actions, risk mitigation and contingency during failure are rounder. Idiots plan because they don’t, rather can’t, think. They feel planning, like everything else they do, makes them look intelligent. All in all, planning is a habit, a hobby at best – but too much of calorie burning for me. I find it as boring as watching a F1 race on TV, or poring over my previous paragraph twice without a loo break in between. Planning is invariably aimed at favorable outcomes; it’s all about sunny days. We don’t plan a failure. The only notable exception would be planning someone else’s failure. Covering for a possible failure or technical fault (e.g. buying insurance policies for survived ones) is more of an error recovery or a damage control spree and is actually done in advance to promote hopefulness. It doesn’t carry itself as a ‘planning for failure’ case study. Can a student plan for a certain high score in an exam? He/she can at least prepare a plan. Can there be a plan on being the topper? Well, that’s complicated. It includes planning for the rest of class securing lesser scores too. Hence I sentimentally prove my point: I never plan (else I wouldn’t have been here). I usually struggle to identify a favorable outcome, which game do I plan for? Every outcome is so mixed and layered, I gasp for air at the end of any planning sprint. We don’t plan our dreams. That’s another reason planning loses its sheen when it faces me. I believe I’ve a dream life. I don’t mean it’s as picturesque as a beautiful dream sequence – I mean I’m alive when I mange to dream. Planning isn’t a help.

A young guy told me, the same old me, 12Y back… it was an evening to remember. We were talking about sports interests (of course about watching on TV, not playing ourselves). He stole the show (of ‘being different’) saying “I watch only F1”. Football, cricket folks were noticeably unsettled by the remark. Someone stretched his thesaurus to me – “You know Formula One racing, cars, Schumachars… those stuff”. Next, I planned an experience meticulously, wrote and struck through on a yellow piece of paper (called ‘post-it’) under the header ‘todos’ (not the Spanish nuance for ‘all’) for a few times before accomplishing a recce over TV. Funky helmets, fat tires, and snippets of different sections of tracks shuffling around the screen asking for a coordination beyond my brain’s capacity. The boy whose words made me see this trash was younger and I shouldn’t have cursed him so harsh in his absence. My deal as a plan-less individual was almost sealed that fateful day (it was just a decision, could have stopped eating non-veg that day.. anything to make the day memorable). The only takeaway of this process was the learning of another ‘F’ word. I wouldn’t call it a sea change. It was a minor shift in stance – from agnostic to antitheist to tender an analogy.

Author: shban

Struggling, Searching and still not Sleeping...

Leave a Reply

